USAFA Class of 1982

2860 Arbor Pointe Dr

Middletown, OH 45042

© 2017 by USAF Academy Class of 1982      Disclaimer      Privacy Policy


Contact Webmaster here

USAF Academy  

Class of 1982

"Best in Blue!"

Latest News
Hey Redtags,
Reunion Registration is now open!
Go here for more info, or jump directly to the AOG registration page.
If you're not on the Class of '82 E-Mail List, PLEASE go here and sign up now!  Doing so will help ensure you get the latest reunion news and information as soon as we know it.
Class of '82 and Former congresswoman Heather Wilson is Trump's pick for Air Force secretary. We can say we knew her when!
The most important thing is you make sure your contact info is current with the AOG and if you have any of our classmates on your contact or Facebook list, please notify them to do the same and please pass this website on to them - the more the merrier!  Group hazing sessions were always more palatable!
Appointed 26 Jun 1978
Graduated on 2 Jun 1982
Graduation Rate
Class Facts
  • Living Graduates:  805 (12/2/2016)

  • Commissions:

    • USAF- 830

    • US Army- 2

    • US Navy- 3

    • US Marine Corps-1

    • Foreign- 4

    • Not commissioned-2

  • Graduation Speaker:

    • George H. W. Bush, Vice President of the United States

  • Presented Commissions:

    • George H. W. Bush, Vice President of the United States

  • Presented Diplomas:

    • George H. W. Bush, Vice President of the United States; The Honorable Verne Orr, Secretary of the Air Force

  • Cadet Wing Commanders:

    • Timothy Collins (Fall)

    • Robert P. Otto (Spring)

  • Scholarships:

    • Rhodes Scholarships: Heather A. Wilson, and David S. Fadok

    • National Science Foundation Fellowships: Christopher R. Kedzie, Joseph E. Overbeck, and David R. Levy

    • Fannie and John Hertz Foundation Fellowship: Robert J. Scari and Robert E. Peterson, Jr.

    • Fulbright Scholarship: Steven C. Suddarth

    • Guggenheim Fellowship: David R. Levy

    • National Football Foundation and Hall of Fame Scholarship: Michael E. B. France

    • East-West Center Scholarship: Shawn V. Whitson

    • Princeton Fellowship: James D. Taiclet, Jr.

    • Kennedy School of Government - Harvard University Scholarship: Jon A. Kimminau, James D. Taiclet, and David M. Snyder

    • Boeing Endowments for Excellence: Christopher R. Kedzie, Herbert E. Klei, Robert E. Peterson, Jr., Steven C. Suddarth, and Thomas L. Yoder; Franklin C. Wolfe Fellowship: Timothy F. Lindemann

    • Departmental scholarships: Gail R. Cooper, Michael E. Damal, and Glenn E. James

  • All-Americans (sports):

    • Johnny L. Jackson: Football; Academic All American: Michael E. B. France

  • Class Officers:

    • President: James T. Demarest

    • Vice President:  Rick Burgess

    • Secretary:  Peggy (Sherman) Ball

    • Treasurer:  Greg Masters

    • Historian and Scribe: James M. Ratti



Our Class Ring


  • The American Flag, with the Polaris Star serving as its support, gracefully wraps around theAcademy Saber showing the Class of '82s commitment to defend our country. 


  • The Prop and Wings and the slogan, "Best in Blue," represent the pride '82 has in being the24th graduating class from the Academy. 


  • "This quote is taken from the hymn sung each Sunday in the Cadet Chapel asking God tolead and protect the Men who Fly. 


  • The four Thunderbirds symbolize the courage and expertise of the men whose mission is to"Fly and Fight."


  • Class Motto: "Best in Blue"

That was then . . .
This is now . . .